HISTORY OF THE CLUB
The Belmont Bowls Club was established in 1906 and situated on the banks of the Barwon River. Facilities included a 6 rink bowling green, a croquet lawn and in time, a double storey Clubhouse.
In 1975, plans were unveiled for the construction of the La Trobe Tce Bridge, later named the James Harrison Bridge. This project required the land surrounding and including the Belmont Bowls Club. The original Clubhouse, although renovated, still remains under the bridge. The Club considered several alternative sites before deciding on the site of its current location at Reynolds Road.
Work progressed and in 1986, the new clubrooms were opened with three grass greens and picturesque surrounds. A fourth green was later added, originally laid as synthetic but later re-laid as grass.
The Club has always had a large number of dedicated and hardworking volunteers, and without them the Club would not be where it is today.